Our Musical Director

Willard Welsford is a former Songman at Leicester Cathedral, and has worked with numerous choruses over the Midlands including The Bardi Chorus, the Leicester University Choral Society, Sinfonia Viva, Leicestershire Chorale, Leicester Bach Choir, and he was for many years Director of Music at St Andrew’s Church, Aylestone. He is currently Musical Director of the De Montfort University Chamber Choir and the New Leicester Youth Chorus, as well as teaching in several schools.

His predecessors as Musical Director of the Wellingborough Singers include Ian Runnells (2014-2015), Peter Marshall (1997-2014), Eric Tebbett (1994-1996), Lee Dunleavy (2017-2022), and founding conductor Stephen Ostler (1980-1994 and 2015-2017).